The Attic24 Bag

Acccck, piece of the yard stuck to it, I thought I got it all... Double crochet, double crochet, double crochet...

double crochet, double crochet, double crochet

I’ve been trying to write this dang post for 2 days now. In hindsight, it probably was not the best idea for me to start a blog and a slew of new social media accounts during one of the most stressful and chaotic periods of my life, but I never was very good at planning. Or waiting, once I decided I wanted something. So here we are. Actually, I’ve been thinking about this little space and all I want it to be almost as much as I think about crochet. Which is a lot. Like… Constantly. So I figure that’s a good thing because it means that I really want to have a place where I write and can just dump out all the things I like and love to do.

Getting some Sun!!

Getting some Sun!!

That said, my current work in progress is the Attic24 stripey bag that everyone loves so much. I’m making it from cotton for a couple reasons. Or a few, if you want. For one, it’s a pretty bag and I kept going back to it in my folder of about eleventy million saved links for crochet so that must be a sign that I really want to make it. Secondly, I am so very lucky to have a life partner who supports my new addiction hobby and gave me a go pass to buy a metric ton of Sugar’n Cream cotton during the recent Michaels $.97 sale. Seriously. So. Much. Yarn. (approximately 37 skeins, but who’s counting?) So the supplies were certainly handy. And finally, cotton doesn’t stretch and it’s washable so it’s good for a bag that would get a lot of use. I’m not to the point where I am selling my wares yet (that’ll be coming someday!) so everything I make is either gifted to someone or put to use by yours truly and I decided I’d like a big ole’ colorful bag to cart around this spring and summer. Which is great!!! (Can you hear the implied “But…” in there?!?! Good.)

But. While I do love the colors I chose, I do not know if it’s totally a fit for me. Which is a predicament. I had just come off making two baymax amigurumi, one about 3.5″ tall and one almost 9″ tall. In other words, a LOT of white yarn. So when I picked my bag colors, I think I was all “COLORFUL ALL THE THINGS!!” and I may have been hasty in that decision. Don’t get me wrong, I do love it and I’m definitely going to finish it and I may even end up using it if I fall back into love with it. But so far, I don’t know. I AM enjoying the use of color and I am enjoying the process because once you’re through the increasing for the base, it’s just double crochet, double crochet, double crochet. So it’s nice and mindless for those evenings when your 4 year old is finally asleep and you get to watch what YOU want to watch instead of My Little Pony or Strawberry Shortcake (if I have to listen to Cherry Jam sing about how she wakes up every day full of sparkles and unicorn magic one more time, I am going to chuck the iPad into oncoming traffic…what? Me? I’m fiiiiiine…) Whew. Anyway, it’s a good pattern, and even if I don’t end up with this one, I will make another one in a different color pallette because I like the concept, I’m just not 100% on my execution of it yet.

So that’s the dilemma that I’ve been trying to write about since Tuesday. I finally have a day off today where I am not responsible for getting anyone else to any appointments or running errands for anyone to make sure they have what they need, so my first order was getting this blog post out. The second is a trip to Trader Joe’s for pizza dough and bubbly water with a side trip to a local hoity-toity market because they always have Japanese maple saplings for $20 around this time of year and my maple decided to die on me randomly last year. I’m not over the trauma of it so I’m replacing it with another one out of sheer spite. Ha. Hopefully they have them in already, but I might be a couple weeks early on that so we’ll see.

Well, there’s a nice meaty post for you. I’ve already got an idea for the next post that includes said pizza dough, ham, cheese, and the convenience of a freezer meal that you can grab’n’go, but there might be a couple other posts in there before that. Depends on how motivated I am to get my process pics in order (hint: I love taking pictures but I’m horrible at editing and organizing them. Ask the mister, who just recently had to partition my hard drive again to make room for all my saved pictures… Yeah…)

Anyway, I’ll leave you with one more picture of the “Bag Undecided” and until later…and yay it’s almost Friday!!

Relaxing in the grass. It's almost technicolor out in the sun.

Relaxing in the grass. It’s almost technicolor out in the sun.

Leave a Reply

